ICC T20 WORLDCIP : Australia receives Rs 13 crore in prize money, while Team India, Namibia, and Scotland each receive the same amount.

On Sunday (November 14), Australia’s cricket team made history by winning their first-ever T20 World Cup title with an eight-wicket victory over Kane Williamson’s New Zealand in Dubai. For the first time in their history, the five-time ODI winners won the T20 title, and Aaron Finch’s team was awarded Rs 13.1 crore in prize money. The T20 World Cup prize pool for 2021 has been set at $5.6 million (Rs 42 crore approximately). The prize money will be distributed among the 16 teams who will compete in the competition. Australia would get a total of Rs 13.1 crore in prize money, including Rs 11.9 crore for winning the tournament and an extra Rs 1.2 crore for winning four out of five league matches in the Super 12 phases.

New Zealand, on the other hand, would receive Rs 7.15 crores – Rs 5.95 crore for reaching the final and an extra Rs 1.2 crore for registering four victories in the Super 12 rounds, same to Australia. England and Pakistan, the other two semifinalists in the event, are set to get $400,000 (Rs 3 crores) apiece. Pakistan would also earn an extra Rs 1.5 crore for winning five matches in the Super 12 stage, for a total of Rs 4.5 crores, while England will receive a total of Rs 4.2 crores for winning four out of five matches in the Super 12 stage.

Each team that qualifies for the tournament’s Super 12 stages will get a check for $70,000. (Rs 52 lakhs). Aside from that, each team will get $40,000 (Rs 30 lakhs) for each win in the Super 12 phases of the event. Virat Kohli’s Team India earned a total of Rs 1.42 crore, including Rs 52 lakhs for making it to the Super 12 stages and an extra Rs 90 lakhs for winning three of them. Oman, Papua New Guinea, Ireland, and the Netherlands were among the four countries who competed in the T20 World Cup qualifiers but did not advance to the Super 12 phases. Each of these teams will get $40,000 (Rs 30 lakhs) as well as an extra $40,000 (Rs 30 lakhs) for each win in the tournament’s qualifying rounds.

Leave a Comment